The Jesus trail

The Jesus Trail comprises a network of trails in the Lower Galilee that wind through the mountains and valleys between Nazareth and the Sea of Galilee.
Such sites as Nazareth, Cana, Zippori (Sepphoris), the Horns of Hattin, Mt. Tabor, Migdal (Magdala), Capernaum, Tabgha and the Mount of Beatitudes are still connected today by the same trails that linked them 2000 years ago.
In his book, “Fifth Gospel,” Fr. Bargil Pixner wrote:
Five gospels record the life of Jesus. Four you will find in books and one you will find in the land they call Holy.”

The walk along the Jesus trail lets your senses experience things that are very typical to this region. The smell of the flowers on a spring day. The touch of the sun on your bare skin. The murmur of the small waves lapping against the Sea of Galilee. The feel of the special shade created by  grapevine leaves on the veranda of a village house.
All of these feelings, and others as well, shape the experience of the Jesus trail hiker. And what is remarkable is that the people who walked along this same trail two millennia ago most probably shared very similar feelings and experiences, since the surroundings and elements of this region have remained relatively unchanged – the soil, plants, animals, views, climate and trails.

A hike along the Jesus trail can vary, from a short walk of a few hours, to a longer hike of between 3-6 days.  
A typical intensive hike on the trail will take 4 days:

Day 1        Nazareth, Zippori, Cana
Day 2        Cana, Kibbutz Lavi
Day 3        Lavi, Horns of Hattin, Arbel
Day 4        Arbel, Migdal, Mt. of Beatitudes, Capernaum, Sea of Galilee.

You can combine the Jesus trail route with a longer and more extensive tour of Israel. A particularly interesting combination is to hike along the Jesus trail in addition to a pilgrimage hike to Jerusalem – (Journey to Jerusalem).


E-mail Print PDF

design by adraba (C) 2011 SKtours in nature